How Long Do I have to File My Personal Injury Case?

Serving nearby areas by Palm Beach and West Palm Beach, Florida

Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury CasesIn Florida, it is important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible after your accident to protect your rights, but it is also important because every personal injury case has time limits.

Each state has enacted statutes of limitations that require you to bring your personal injury claims within a certain amount of time. In Florida, these deadlines are:

  • 4 years from the date of your accident to file your personal injury claim
  • 3 years from the date of your accident if your injury claims involve the city, county, or state government
  • 2 years from the date of your accident for medical malpractice cases
  • 2 years from the date you lost your loved one for wrongful death cases

These deadlines are bars to bringing your personal injury lawsuit. It is necessary to contact a lawyer well before these deadlines to ensure that your case can proceed. Calling a lawyer immediately after your accident is recommended in order to make sure your case is thoroughly investigated and that you get the best legal representation possible.

At the Romano Law Group, our lawyers fight for the justice that victims of accidents deserve. Please call 561-533-6700 today for your consultation with an experienced personal injury attorney. We represent clients throughout Palm Beach, West Palm Beach, and the surrounding communities.